Home Is In Sight

I think the nurses have pretty much had enough of me being here as much as I have of being here. I don’t mean it in a bad way at all, apart from the one, the nurses here have been amazing, but there isn’t a lot more for them to do for me. Nothing that between James and I we can’t do at home. I can almost feel it, being at home, the smell of my own things, surrounded by ow my belongings. Being able to look at the pictures on the wall, drink tea out of my mug. I cannot wait.Hopefully today if not tomorrow. Being able to watch my boys run around and hear Charleigh crashing through the front door after school. It’s funny the little things that you miss. But hidden between the excitement and joy of seeing home in sight, is a bit of nervousness and trepidation. After being in hospital for such a long time after such injuries you become almost institutionalised. You become accustomed quickly to having nurses and doctors just a button press away, the comfort of knowing that should anything happen or go wrong they are at hand. The fact that I am unable to walk makes me nervous even though we have all of the equipment ready at home that I have here. I am sure it will take a while to get used to being there again. And emotionally, the last time I left home I was going shopping with my daughter to buy ingredients for Fajita’s so we could have a fun evening as a family watching BGT! But I didn’t come back. And now I am going home, I have two broken legs and emotions that I never knew existed in me. It’s going to be hard but it’s one step that I am looking forward to taking. The day I finally do get home is where the journey really starts to healing as a family.

Leave a Reply

