Mending Bones

Today I have been made aware of just how tiring it can be mending broken bones.

Despite a good nights sleep I have dozed for most of the day in between visitors and am well on my way to being ready for tonight’s attempt at rest. It hasn’t been peaceful though in that I find that when I am this tired I’m jolted awake periodically with bad dreams and come around scared with a thumping heart. This is happening less frequently though which is a blessing. The dreams won’t last forever, along with bones, they will be fixed and healed with time and patience.

Every inch of me is exhausted, my eyes are heavy and I can almost feel myself healing. But it has come at a price, I’ve had a little more pain so I’ve needed painkillers more often which have made me feel quite nauseas, all in all a bad chain of events. However I’ve always known that this process was going to be about give and take. Today has felt as though I have been dragging myself up my mountain rather than walking up. But tomorrow’s sun will bring happier times. (it’s already sounding better, a yummy roast at James’ Mum’s!)

This time three weeks ago I was still in A&E, in pain, confused and scared. Sat here now I am anxious about the future but proud of what I have achieved in a relatively short time. I am winning this fight so far and will continue to do so. I will not give in.

I was talking to an old friend today about my accident, life in general and no matter how perfect your life may seem, you never know what is going to happen. When bad things are thrown in your path you can either let them bring you down or you solider on with the help of the ones who love and care for you. You need to grasp life with both hands, it really is only what you make it.

3 thoughts on “Mending Bones

  1. Great attitude to have and what a great idea to do a blog about your experience. I was so shocked reading how the accident happened though! I know a little of what you are going through as last April I broke my leg in two places for the second time in two years and was non-weight bearing for 12 weeks.

Leave a Reply

