My Beautiful Family

It’s as though the heavens are looking down on me and celebrating my progress.

The skies are blue and the sun is bright, all in time for me to finally be able-legged enough to walk down the steps into my garden. For two days now I have been able to sit outside and feel the warmth of the sun on my skin and it brings such a natural happiness with it.
I have been able to enjoy the feel of the grass on my feet, the song of the birds and my gorgeous boys running around me filling the air with laughter.
Beautiful days!

Having been surrounded my family this weekend it has made me think a lot about how they have been affected. Sometimes I forget that my accident may have happened only to me physically, but it has had an affect on everyone.

My amazing Mum has travelled up every weekend without fail. Nothing is ever too much for her and I would be lost without her. I know how I feel if one of my children is hurt, I can’t even begin to imagine how it hurt her to see me in so much pain. She has been a tower of strength to both James and I and we will forever be grateful.
And James’ family have been incredible. They have helped us in so many ways, their generosity has blown us away and I feel so lucky to have them in my life. I am one of life’s lucky ladies that has a wonderful mother in law, she has been there for us all from the start and I know she always will be.

It has really hit home just how vulnerable children are and how the simplest of actions can have such an impact on them. But also that they adapt so quickly and things become their normal in the blink of an eye. My children, all three of them have made me so incredibly proud over the last six weeks.

Charleigh has such a wonderful inner strength and she has grown up before our eyes. She has adapted to the changes forced upon us with such maturity. Even though underneath it all she is still a ten year old, learning about life and the world around her with all the trials and tribulations that come with it, I can see what a beautiful, strong young woman she will become.

Henry, my ‘chunky monkey’ who is so eager to learn and is the bigger of the twins but is actually my most sensitive baby. Despite his full on personality and his compulsion to jump in to things head first, my accident had the biggest effect on him. He looked totally petrified and confused when he visited me in hospital and that was heart breaking. Once I came home it took him the longest to be comfortable enough to hug me again. He has so much love in him and adores those close to him, he doesn’t take it well when something isn’t right.

And Archie, my ‘little man’, takes everything in around him with such a soft approach, he has a beautiful nature but beneath his gentleness is a strong minded and very caring, strong little boy. He was very cautious of me in hospital, he knew that something wasn’t right but you could see him trying to work it out. Back home we talked lots about Mummy’s legs and his inquisitive mind took it all in. His hugs came first with Henry following his lead.

James is doing an amazing job of keeping us all together. I find it hard watching him have to do everything but he is taking it all on without a thought. He stays strong even when I am falling apart. He is truly my rock and I love him more than I thought I could ever love anyone.

I am so lucky to have been blessed with my family.

3 thoughts on “My Beautiful Family

  1. Beautiful absolutely beautifully written. Me thinks there is a journalist hidden in there somewhere. From the depths of darkness you have come into the light. It is all looking so much brighter….Love and Hugs to you, you courageous women. Mwah. Keep writing

Leave a Reply

